Romanian Point Lace- how to measure the lenght of cord

I like to measure the length of cord to use on small projects because I feel like moving faster to the end.

When I do short lengths of cord, I stitch them down on to the project and at the end of the day I can see something done.

Anyway ,I remember that mom use to have a bag with different types of meters and meters of cord rolled on match boxes (don`t n know why ) all with some matches left in. The evenings , at TV, with mom crocheting cord , always had a sound of rattling snakes  of the matches in the box. Then, when a big ball of cord was used for a project, me and my brother bet the number of the matches in the box and the color of the ends. 30 years ago, no computer, I-pads, x-force and still it was easy to play with almost nothing.

I already told you the  story from yesterday so, let`s measure the cord:

All that you have to do is to run a stitch around a motif and after, to take out the thread careful, in one piece,letting aprox. 1-2  cm reserve and using it like a measure.

For edge, in this case I did only a half (36 cm)and then I`ll do one piece of wide cord of double length of thread.

how to do the stitch to measure cord in Romanian Point Lace doily example

how to do the stitch to measure cord in Romanian Point Lace

For flowers,in my example,  I did one (aprox. 60 cm )and after I`ll do four piece of  narrow cord of same length.

how to measure cord in Romanian Point Lace

Of course, if you prefer, is ok to measure how much cord you need in total(2.40 of narrow cord and 72 cm of wide cord -add reserve of1 or 2 cmtrs) , do the entire length and then cut and close neat what ever length  you need.

how to measure cord in Romanian Point lace example of a doily

how to measure cord in Romanian Point lace example of a doily

 

For big projects with same type of cord all over,  just do some kilometers of cord  :)) and happy croche-stitching after. Only be careful to use same batch of thread if possible, because, believe me, even the small differences will be visible and drive you crazy.

Or may be is just me !!? Later I will tell you how to solve this  colour difference issue.

Good night ladies

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under cord types, crochet, Romanian Point Lace

Leave a Reply

